National Climate Adaptation Science Center Program (NCASC)

Award Amount
Maximum Amount
Assistance Type
Funding Source
Implementing Entity
Due Date
Where the Opportunity is Offered
All of California
Additional Eligibility Information
Eligible Applicants Non-Federal entities eligible to submit proposals under this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) include state, not-for-profit, local government, and tribal entities, including academic institutions. USGS entities may not submit proposals and may not be listed as formal partners on proposals. Federal agencies may collaborate in the execution of projects; Federal partners must receive money through other methods as appropriate and not through Federal financial assistance (i.e., the CASC hosting cooperative agreement). Any eligible non-Federal entity organization or consortium interested in hosting a Center in the identified CASC region may apply; consortium partners are not required to be physically located within their corresponding CASC region. However, proposals involving institutions located outside the focal region should provide strong evidence of experience and capability to conduct research and maintain active partnerships with resource management stakeholders within the focal region, either directly or through other consortium members. Proposals may be submitted for a single institution or by one institution serving as the CASC Host, along with additional consortium partners. Consortium partners should only be included if they will play a clear and substantive role in CASC strategy and operations. Examples include the provision of cooperative agreement funding for faculty and students or post-doctoral researchers for research activities related to the CASC science agenda.
Sherri Bredesen

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) seeks to identify applicant organizations that propose to host and, as applicable, serve as consortium partners for a U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Climate Adaptation Science Center (CASC) in the Midwest that includes the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, and Wisconsin, and to determine if their proposed science, partnership, and program support activities and strategies are appropriate. Once selected, the recipient will be established as Host Institution. As a Host, an institution will be the sole entity eligible to receive funding to conduct follow-on research/science projects anticipated as a part of this NOFO. Host Institutions may engage with other institutions, including by subaward, as part of these projects.

Last Updated